Letter from the Anti-Corruption Trust of Southern Africa to the Prime Minister of Swaziland

23 August 2012.

Dear H.E. Dr. Barnabas Sibusiso Dlamini,

Re: Ratification of the UN Convention against Corruption (UNCAC)

We are pleased to inform you that the Anti-Corruption Trust of Southern Africa commissioned a desk study on the status of signature and ratification of anti-corruption treaties by SADC member states. The study was focused on the SADC Protocol against Corruption (SPAC), AU Convention on preventing and combating Corruption (AUCPCC), and the UN Convention against Corruption (UNCAC) by SADC member states. The following findings were made about Swaziland:

  1. Swaziland signed and ratified the SPAC on 14 August 2001 and 1 August 2006 respectively;
  2. Swaziland signed the AUCPCC on 7 December 2004 but has not ratified the same; and
  3. Swaziland signed the UNCAC on 15 September 2005 but has also not ratified the same.

In view of the above, Swaziland remains the only SADC member state that has not ratified the UNCAC. Furthermore, it has not ratified the AUCPCC, alongside with other SADC member states namely: Angola, Botswana, DRC, and Mauritius.

To this end, we are writing this letter to remind your government of the need to ratify and domesticate the SPAC, AUCPCC and the UNCAC. Furthermore, please feel free to contact our organisation for any technical assistance needed to strengthen your government’s efforts towards the prevention and combatting of corruption.

Please feel free to contact the undersigned for any further information or clarifications. We will forward to you the assessment report for perusal and use.

Best regards,
Munyaradzi Alouis Chaumba
Regional Coordinator