Official Documents

The UNCAC review mechanism combines a self-assessment by the country under review with a governmental peer review.

The review process comprises two five-year cycles:

  • The first cycle (2010–2015) covers chapter III on criminalisation and law enforcement and chapter IV on international cooperation
  • The second cycle (2015–2020) will cover chapter II on preventive measures and chapter V on asset recovery

The outputs of each country review are a self-assessment by the country under review, a full country review report prepared by the peer reviewers and approved by the country under review, and an executive summary of this report.

The mechanism encourages the countries under review to publish their self-assessments and the full country review reports – and increasingly countries are agreeing to do so. The executive summaries are automatically published on the UNODC’s website.

Published self-assessments in the first review cycle:

Year 1
Bangladesh Brazil Finland Rwanda United States
Year 2
Colombia Portugal Switzerland United Kingdom
Year 3
Afghanistan Tanzania
Year 4
Botswana Nigeria

Published full reports in the first review cycle:

Year 1
Bulgaria Burundi (French) Chile (Spanish) Croatia Finland France (English) France (French) Lithuania Morocco (English) Morocco (Arabic) Peru (Spanish) Rwanda (French) Spain (Spanish) Ukraine USA
Year 2
Brunei Darussalam Cuba (Spanish) El Salvador (Spanish) Georgia Kuwait (Arabic) Lao Panama Philippines Portugal Russia (Russian) Slovakia South Africa Switzerland (English) Switzerland (French) United Kingdom Vietnam
Year 3
Algeria (French) Armenia Austria Bolivia Canada Italy Latvia Lesotho Luxembourg Macedonia Malaysia Malta Sweden Tanzania
Year 4
Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Kenya Liechtenstein Nigeria

Published executive summaries in the first review cycle:

Year 1 (July 2010 – June 2011) 27 countries
Argentina Bangladesh Bulgaria Brazil Burundi Chile Croatia Dominica Dominican Republic Fiji Finland France Indonesia Jordan Lithuania Mongolia Morocco Niger (no summary yet)
Papua New Guinea
Peru (English) Peru (Spanish) Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Spain Togo Uganda Ukraine USA Zambia
Year 2 (July 2011 – June 2012) 41 countries
Australia Azerbaijan Benin (no summary yet)
Brunei Darussalam Cameroon (no summary yet)
Cape Verde (no summary yet)
Central African Republic (no summary yet)
Colombia Congo (no summary yet)
Cuba El Salvador Estonia Georgia
Iraq Iran Jamaica Kazakhstan Kuwait Laos Mauritius Montenegro Mozambique (no summary yet)
Nicaragua Panama Philippines Portugal
Russian Federation Serbia Seychelles (no summary yet)
Sierra Leone (no summary yet)
Slovakia South Africa Switzerland Timor Leste United Arab Emirates United Kingdom Uruguay Vietnam Zimbabwe
Year 3 (July 2012 – June 2013) 35 countries
Afghanistan (no summary yet)
Algeria Angola (no summary yet)
Armenia Austria Bolivia Burkina Faso (no summary yet)
Canada Cyprus (no summary yet)
Djibouti (no summary yet)
Ghana Guyana (no summary yet)
Hungary Italy Latvia Lesotho Luxembourg Macedonia Malaysia Malta Mauritania (no summary yet)
Mexico Netherlands Pakistan (no summary yet)
Paraguay Qatar Romania Slovenia South Korea Sri Lanka Sweden Tanzania Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia (French) Venezuela (no summary yet)
Year 4 (July 2013 – June 2014) 59 countries
Albania (no summary yet)
Antigua and Barbuda (no summary yet)
Bahamas Bahrain Belarus (no summary yet)
Belgium (no summary yet)
Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Cambodia China (no summary yet)
Comoros (no summary yet)
Cook Islands Costa Rica (no summary yet)
Côte d’Ivoire (no summary yet)
Democratic Republic of Congo (no summary yet)
Denmark (no summary yet)
Ecuador (no summary yet)
Egypt (Arabic) Ethiopia Gabon (no summary yet)
Greece Guatemala
Guinea (no summary yet)
Guinea-Bissau (no summary yet)
Haiti (no summary yet)
Honduras Iceland (no summary yet)
Ireland India (no summary yet)
Israel Kenya Kiribati Kyrgyzstan (no summary yet)
Lebanon Liberia Libya (no summary yet)
Liechtenstein Madagascar Malawi (no summary yet)
Maldives Mali (no summary yet)
Marshall Islands Micronesia
Moldova (no summary yet)
Myanmar (no summary yet)
Namibia Nauru Nepal (no summary yet)
Nigeria Norway Palau Poland Saudi Arabia Saint Lucia (no summary yet)
Singapore Senegal (no summary yet)
Solomon Islands Swaziland (no summary yet)
Tajikistan (no summary yet)
Thailand (no summary yet)
Turkey Turkmenistan (no summary yet)
Uzbekistan (no summary yet)
Vanuatu Yemen
Year 5 (July 2014 – June 2015)

Civil Society