First Coordination Committee elections

15 March 2011, by Phoebe Hardefeldt.

The landmark elections for the first UNCAC Coalition Coordination Committee will be held online from 18 to 22 April 2011. The nomination period has now closed, and 21 candidates have been nominated for the 11 seats open on the Coordination Committee. Based on the nominations, five seats are uncontested – these being the East Asian seat which will be held by TAN, Philippines (represented by Vincent Lazatin); the two European regional seats which will be held by SHERPA (represented by Maud Perdriel-Vaissiere) and Transparency International Macedonia (represented by Slagjana Taseva), and the two International Member Organisation seats, which will be held by Christian Aid (represented by Eric Gutierrez) and Tearfund (represented by Melissa Lawson). In addition, the Coalition secretariat – Transparency International Secretariat (represented by Gillian Dell) – holds a permanent seat on the Coordination Committee. Coalition members can view the candidate profiles, with information about each organisation and their candidate, on the elections page of the website (you will need to login). To allow you to get to know the candidates, each candidate profile has a Q&A section where you can ask questions and find out more about each candidate.

Voting passwords will be circulated to all members on 4 April 2011 so stay tuned! These will enable members to access the online voting system from 18 to 22 April to cast their vote. Keep an eye on the Coalition website elections page, where you can find election bulletins and details of the election process.

Composed of 12 members, the Coordination Committee will be the oversight and decision-making body of the Coalition. Eight seats are allocated on a regional basis, two seats go to International Member Organisations, one seat is reserved for Individual Affiliate Members, and the Coalition Secretariat has a permanent seat. Committee members are elected for two year terms, except that five of the Members elected in the inaugural election shall have one-year terms. You can read more about the UNCAC Coalition governance, and the responsibilities and rules of procedure of the Coordination Committee.